Telegram Whatsapp

Compact Nursing States List 2023 eNLC Members List

Compact Nursing States List 2023: Compact nursing states basically mean Nursing Licensure Compact (NLC). It is an agreement between states through which nurses can have one compact state nursing license that allow them to practice in other states that are part of the agreement.

It was first initiated in the year 2000, moreover, the license had grown to include 25 states by 2015. In order to help efficiently the process for nurses. The eNLC (Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact) was introduced in the year 2018 and has standards for licensure which the originally compact license was in short of. For instance, the NLC did not need applicants to go through state and federal fingerprint-based criminal background checks, while the latest eNLC does.

Compact Nursing States (eNLC Members)

All the states currently impacted by multi-state compact licensing includes:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana (Registered Nurse and Practical Nurse)
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Virgin Islands
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming
Parul University B.Sc Nursing Admission 2023 (Open)Apply Here!!!

States Having Pending NLC Legislation

The below list includes the states which have pending legislation for possibly becoming part of the Nursing Licensure Compact:

  • Alaska
  • Illinois
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • New York
  • Rhode Island
  • Washington

States Without NLC Legislation

  • American Samoa
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Hawaii
  • Mariana Islands
  • Nevada
  • Oregon

Compact Nursing States List Eligibility

In order to achieve licensure in a state that is part of the eNCL agreement and get permitted to practice in all member states, one must fulfill the below discussed 11 requirements:

  • You should fulfill the requirements for licensure in your home state where you have legal residency.
  • A graduate from a board-approved education program will be eligible only.
  • If the nursing program you pursued was not taught in English or English is not your native language, then you need to qualify for an English proficiency exam.
  • It is necessary to pass the NCLEX-RN or the NCLEX-PN.
  • Individuals holding an active, unencumbered nursing license will be eligible only.
  • It is also important to clear the state and federal fingerprint-based criminal background checks.
  • You are eligible only if you have never been convicted or found guilty of an atrocity offense.
  • One should not possess misdemeanor convictions regarding the practice of nursing.
  • When applying for licensure, you should not be a part of an alternative program.
  • If you are appearing in an alternative program, then it is vital to disclose this information.
  • A valid US Social Security number holder will be eligible.

Importance of Nursing Compact States

In order to become a member of the NLC, each and every state develop its goals, however, there has been ongoing defiance from some states in concern with the need for licensure. While the eNLC continues to develop, there are still some states left that still do not want to be involved in the license.

Furthermore, the eNLC will continue to increase access to health care, lessen the overall value to hospitals, insurance companies,  and individual patients, and support coherent and strong health care delivery. It became effective in the year 2017, which allowed the Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administration to start aligning applicable rules and regulations for the new licensure.

Moreover, in the year 2018, new multi-state licenses were issued to all nurses who registered for the transition from the old license. New nurses receiving their first license in an eNLC state will be allowed to practice in all eNLC states without lag. This option is very beneficial for travelers who do not like to waste time between contracts. Additionally, it helps reduce the price of license renewal and application fees. Unfortunately, Hawaii is not included as a part of the eNLC and does not have any pending legislation. Although, it is one of the most desirable states for travel nurses in the United States.

Organizations Supporting NLC and eNLC

  • American Association of Colleges of Nurses
  • American Association of Neuroscience Nurses
  • American Association of Occupational Health Nurses
  • American Association of Poison Control Centers
  • Association of Camp Nurses
  • Association for Vascular Access
  • Commission for Case Manager Certification
  • Cross Country Healthcare
  • Emergency Nurses Association
  • Hospital Corporation of American Healthcare
  • National Governors Association Center for Best Practices
  • National League for Nursing
  • National Military Family Association
  • National Patient Safety Foundation
  • National Student Nurses Association
  • Organization for Associate Degree Nursing
  • Oncology Nursing Society
  • Population Health Alliance
  • Telehealth leadership Council
  • U.S. Department of Commerce

Leave a Comment